My Amazing December

Milestones

  • First time to go home twice in one year (normally once a year lah)
  • First time to a four week long vacation (normally I get 2 weeks only hehe)
  • First time to go home for Christmas & New Year’s (after 5 Christmases & New Year’s in Bahrain, finally!)
  • First time to camp sleep in a hospital for Mum’s procedure (successful, thank God!)
  • First wedding in our family (my eldest brother Pop gets hitched)
  • First local trip with Buboy.
  • First EA+SEA trip with Buboy.
2012 Vacation 2.0

2012 Vacation 2.0

But this was not a coincidence. I’ve planned almost a half a year prior (yes, ako na ang excited-slash-OC), considered various factors: available leave days, air tickets, itineraries, expense budget, et al.

I booked my BAH-MNL tickets in late June 2012 – availed my bank’s offer and noted the fact that ticket prices double during December.

I’ve informed my boss in advance (backed by a perfect attendance record) and department colleagues (so that our leave skeds won’t clash), yes, ako na ang may malasakit sa kumpanya at ayokong sabay-sabay kaming nakabakasyon, hehe.

I didn’t use any of my leave days since March 2012 (1st home leave, 2 weeks only), so as to accumulate maximum # of leave days, hehehe. I used Eid holidays for our trip to Qatar (Aug 2012) and Oman (Oct 2012).

Did research for our Boracay-Clark-Singapore-KualaLumpur-HongKong-Macau backpacking trip, grabbed seats from airline promos, drafted itineraries and set expense budgets.

Two months prior, my brother informed of his intent to marry his childhood sweetheart after Christmas day.🙂

About a month prior, my mom told me of her diagnosis and the procedure she’s required to undergo (I was so anxious that time, that I wanted to go home earlier. Thank God it wasn’t emergency and was scheduled upon my arrival).

With all these events noted, my itinerary dynamically adjusted and patiently waited for the days to pass. Actually I had so much paper works the week prior that after my last day of duty, I punched out, rested a bit, grabbed my luggage and took a cab to the airport.

Yes, diz iz it pancit!🙂

Categories: My Life is a Journey | Tags: , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “My Amazing December

  1. hwaw naman ang busy ng sched, siksik sa events😀 mabuti at ayos na ang lagay ng iyong ina…

    • thank you RP! sinulit tlaga hehe! at salamat sa Diyos, ok naman si Nanay, sinigurado ko munang OK sya bago lumakwatsa!🙂

  2. Lots of preparation, sacrifice and anticipation when we go back to our motherland, eh? I have yet to go to Boracay.

    • hehe, buhay OFW e, what to do yani? so we make the most out of every home leave, no matter how short, and then anticipate the next one,🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Kulas Angeles

Tatay stories worth sharing

redmapledreams

Our Journey to Canada

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Third World Passport

Conquering the world, one Visa at a time.

Gillespie's Guide to Travel+Procurement

Education, Innovation and Best Practices

DIY Coron

Your Trusted Coron Palawan Travel Portal - Do It Yourself Style

FUNCCOUNTING (Fun Accounting)

Accounting, Made Fun and Humorous! - Jokes and Bloopers!

The Curious Miss

Keep exploring. Keep learning. Stay Curious.

Zee Ridiculous Life of Zee

Life Is Short. Don't take it too seriously.

adbenturera

Life is too short. Get out of the couch.

invested101

my journey to financial freedom

My Hong Kong Husband

Third culture wife: Polish girl married to a Hongkonger, fresh off the airplane in Ireland. AMWF, lifestyle, culture, food, Asian fashion and a little bit of Cantonese

talinorfali

Don't ever change yourself to impress someone, cause they should be impressed that you don't change to please others -- When you are going through something hard and wonder where God is, always remember that the teacher is always quiet during a test --- Unknown

Together as one.

On the 12th of December 2013, we would like you to be our witnesses as we join hands in the Sacrament of Holy Matrimony at the Sanctuario de San Jose Parish.

Air Grindz

Airline food review, mostly economy. Grindz (noun, Hawaiian Pidgin): food, meal, makanan

J T Weaver

And in the end the love you take, is equal to the love you make. -- The Beatles

Sara_Sarity

it's time to give my own voice a chance to pipe in :)

Andy Kaufman's Kavalkade Krew Featuring The Wandering Poet

Poetry, Musical Parodies, Music Videos, Social & Political Commentary, Humor & Reviews

Wandering Soul

another chapter on

joeseeberblog

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Living Europe

The heart and soul of Europe

SHANGHAI CHEAPS

Promotions & Events Page

seriously JOLLY

Live. Laugh. Love. Learn. Leave a legacy.

So, What's News?

News that won’t make you depressed to read the news.

SHE WHO ENTANGLES MEN

Just another WordPress.com weblog

iamhappyheart

A happy heart make the face cheerful, but the heartache crushes the spirit.

by kadu

Unfamous Diary of Pulubing Turista

Seeking Felicity

A memoir of journeys made

Erce'den...

Seyahat ve şehir kültürü yazıları..

The Adventures of AdventuRoj!

Going Places, Leaving Memories, Making a Difference...

YANNAH THE WANDERER

Travel is my Rhythm

OOAworld

Movie, Photos, Writing, Stories, Videos, Animation, Drawings, Art and Travel

Say Cheese!

Life is a piece of cheesecake.

The Neandert(h)al Appreciation Society

Just a place for me to rant and gossip about Neanderthals, the weather, Sod's law... you know... this and that.

In-Madrid

Choose a place and make it yours.

Diary of a Desert Fox

a dose of the sunny, lovely, hungry, thrifty, and motherly that is in me.. and in all of us

I've got some art stuck in my eye

Art history and I have some unfinished business

Turkish Delight 2012

Travels in Turkey

youngdatingdivorced

Divorced after 8 years and still in my 20s. Score! Oh and a hapless rookie at dating. Young, Dating and Divorced.

Traveling Thane Furrows

Sharing Seeds of Benevolence, One Step at a Time.

dessertgump

Its about the places, things, events that inspire me about our world

Trade News in Brief

International Economic Affairs & Relations / Regional & International Organizations / Global Commerce & Business

food and blood

Nicht noch so ein veganer Öko-Blog

