Getting a Tourist Visa for Myanmar

This post is part of a series of guides on how we secured visas for our travels outside Bahrain and the Philippines. The first one is Getting a Tourist Visa for Qatar, second is on Getting a Tourist / Visit / 96 hour Visa for the UAE and third is Getting a Tourist Visa for Oman.🙂

Okay, so all those three are GCC countries… let’s move on to Southeast Asian countries. Being part of the ASEAN community, Filipinos enjoy visa-free entry to Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam.

Myanmar‘s the exception,

Myanmar Tourist Visa, July 2013

Myanmar Tourist Visa, July 2013

Months before the trip, I have read online that Myanmar has started to issue e-visas / visas online. Check out the website: https://www.myanmarevisa.gov.mm/.

However, it showed the status: undergoing beta testing. So I waited until just a couple weeks before my flight, anticipating that the status will be updated so I can secure my visa online. AFAIK, there is no Myanmar Embassy here in Bahrain so getting the visa online would be really convenient.

But Nope. No luck. Actually as of date it has still the same status. Hence I am sharing my experience which may be your option on your trip to Myanmar.

One option is to pay a travel agency online to do it for you. However, I found them too costly and was a bit worried I may not receive the visa on time (looking at their minimum process times) as I was travelling in less than two weeks.

I researched again online and learned that I can get my visa either in Vientiane or Bangkok, my Indochina trip’s first two stops. Great!

Unfortunately, realized I was in Vientiane on a weekend, Sat & Sun. Ansaklap Ate Charo! Maikli pa naman daw pila dun or minsan e wala pa, so it’s a breeze to get a visa. Haist.

Hence, my last and best bet was the Myanmar Embassy in Bangkok.

Myanmar

Busy Myanmar Embassy in Bangkok

First thing I did when I arrived from my BAH-BOM-BKK flight was to go to the Embassy, for inquiry and to try if can lodge my application that day.

I took the Airport Express Line to Paya Thai, then transferred to BTS train, alighted at Surasak Station and just walked to the embassy.

It was a Friday, and so, the embassy was full to the brim hehe.🙂

I explained at the counter that I need urgent visa as I was flying Monday, she said “Go back Monday morning and will get it same day, well before my flight time in the afternoon.” Okay then. Grabbed 2 application forms which i filled in the train on my way to VTE.

Visa Application Procedures

  • The Visa section is open for submitting applications only from 9am – 12nn. Afternoon is for pick up.
  • Bring your passport, photocopy of passport, 2 pcs 2×2 photos (there is an ID machine near the embassy if you fail to bring or have wrong size like me hehe), copy of E-tkt & hostel reservation
  • Application Form – take from Front Counter and duly fill up front and back portions
  • Visa Fees – Same day visa at Baht 1260, next day visa at Baht 1000, and third day visa cheapest at Baht 810. Of course I got the same day option because I was flying same day, just make sure you point this out to the officer with copy of your e-tkt so you’ll be guided to the “correct” next window, i.e. Express.
  • Normal Tourist visa is single entry, for 28 days stay
  • Visa pick up time is 3:30 pm. But for same-day visas like me, as well as flying that afternoon, my visa was issued at 12 noon. Yay!
  • Note both Thai and Myanmar holidays, Embassy will be closed.
  • A VERY IMPORTANT TIP: BE VERY EARLY.  The Embassy opens at 08:00am but I was already there as early as 06:30AM. I was second in line and in an hour, the queue already stretched to more than 50.

My overall experience was pleasant, with embassy staff helpful and accommodating. Going there early was worth it as I was able to submit my application early and receive the visa with enough time before my check in at DMK Airport. 

Myanmar Embassy

Myanmar Embassy in Bangkok, Monday 06:30 AM

My trip to Myanmar lasted only three days and covered only Yangon (Rangoon). Hence I am looking forward for my return for Bagan, Inle Lake and other places of interest,🙂

Categories: Myanmar, Thailand | Tags: , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Getting a Tourist Visa for Myanmar

  1. Check out my post that has several helpful tips for travelling to Myanmar: http://welcometoerinsworld.wordpress.com/2013/06/20/myanmar-travel-tips/

  2. Pingback: SEA Series Part 1: Lovely Laos, Charming Vientiane | adbenturera

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Kulas Angeles

Tatay stories worth sharing

redmapledreams

Our Journey to Canada

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Third World Passport

Conquering the world, one Visa at a time.

Gillespie's Guide to Travel+Procurement

Education, Innovation and Best Practices

DIY Coron

Your Trusted Coron Palawan Travel Portal - Do It Yourself Style

FUNCCOUNTING (Fun Accounting)

Accounting, Made Fun and Humorous! - Jokes and Bloopers!

The Curious Miss

Keep exploring. Keep learning. Stay Curious.

Zee Ridiculous Life of Zee

Life Is Short. Don't take it too seriously.

adbenturera

Life is too short. Get out of the couch.

invested101

my journey to financial freedom

My Hong Kong Husband

Third culture wife: Polish girl married to a Hongkonger, fresh off the airplane in Ireland. AMWF, lifestyle, culture, food, Asian fashion and a little bit of Cantonese

talinorfali

Don't ever change yourself to impress someone, cause they should be impressed that you don't change to please others -- When you are going through something hard and wonder where God is, always remember that the teacher is always quiet during a test --- Unknown

Together as one.

On the 12th of December 2013, we would like you to be our witnesses as we join hands in the Sacrament of Holy Matrimony at the Sanctuario de San Jose Parish.

Air Grindz

Airline food review, mostly economy. Grindz (noun, Hawaiian Pidgin): food, meal, makanan

J T Weaver

And in the end the love you take, is equal to the love you make. -- The Beatles

Sara_Sarity

it's time to give my own voice a chance to pipe in :)

Andy Kaufman's Kavalkade Krew Featuring The Wandering Poet

Poetry, Musical Parodies, Music Videos, Social & Political Commentary, Humor & Reviews

Wandering Soul

another chapter on

joeseeberblog

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Living Europe

The heart and soul of Europe

SHANGHAI CHEAPS

Promotions & Events Page

seriously JOLLY

Live. Laugh. Love. Learn. Leave a legacy.

So, What's News?

News that won’t make you depressed to read the news.

SHE WHO ENTANGLES MEN

Just another WordPress.com weblog

iamhappyheart

A happy heart make the face cheerful, but the heartache crushes the spirit.

by kadu

Unfamous Diary of Pulubing Turista

Seeking Felicity

A memoir of journeys made

Erce'den...

Seyahat ve şehir kültürü yazıları..

The Adventures of AdventuRoj!

Going Places, Leaving Memories, Making a Difference...

YANNAH THE WANDERER

Travel is my Rhythm

OOAworld

Movie, Photos, Writing, Stories, Videos, Animation, Drawings, Art and Travel

Say Cheese!

Life is a piece of cheesecake.

The Neandert(h)al Appreciation Society

Just a place for me to rant and gossip about Neanderthals, the weather, Sod's law... you know... this and that.

In-Madrid

Choose a place and make it yours.

Diary of a Desert Fox

a dose of the sunny, lovely, hungry, thrifty, and motherly that is in me.. and in all of us

I've got some art stuck in my eye

Art history and I have some unfinished business

Turkish Delight 2012

Travels in Turkey

youngdatingdivorced

Divorced after 8 years and still in my 20s. Score! Oh and a hapless rookie at dating. Young, Dating and Divorced.

Traveling Thane Furrows

Sharing Seeds of Benevolence, One Step at a Time.

dessertgump

Its about the places, things, events that inspire me about our world

Trade News in Brief

International Economic Affairs & Relations / Regional & International Organizations / Global Commerce & Business

food and blood

Nicht noch so ein veganer Öko-Blog

