SEA Series Part 4: Mystical Yangon

This post is part of a series on my 16-day Mainland South East Asian trip with college buddies across Thailand, Laos, Myanmar, Cambodia and Vietnam.

I have been looking forward to a trip with my college best friends since we graduated in 2005. Hence I was so elated when two of them were able to join me. It was like college once again, minus the Departmental Exams. 🙂

Shwe

Shwedagon Pagoda, Yangon, Myanmar

It’s been a year since this trip at hindi pa rin ako tapos i-blog. Ako na ang super bagal, toinks.🙂

Hello ulit Bangkok!

From my epic sleeper train journey to and fro Laos, i went straight to the Myanmar Embassy in Bangkok for my visa application.

check out the pila baya ;)

check out the pila baya😉

It was still very early when I got out of Hua Lamphong Train Station. But because I’ve read prior that the lines go longer than usual (especially first day of the week lah), i hopped on the MRT and proceeded immediately to the Embassy. And totoo nga, blockbuster ang pila!🙂
Myanmar embassy in BKK

Myanmar embassy in BKK – Pag may tyaga, may visa🙂

Matapos ang ilang orasnagbukas din. Fill up form, bayadthen hintaySa tamang orasni release angvisa ko. Yay!

Next ay papuntang DMK Airport, where my Air Asia flight to Yangon will depart. Took a cab and paid 100 baht.

DMK Airport

DMK Airport

aboard Air Asia flight BKK-RGN

aboard Air Asia flight BKK-RGN

Departed on time, smooth journey and arrived on time as well, we landed at Yangon International Airport.

inflight stuff

inflight stuff

Nak ng tinapawala yung dapat sumundo sakin from Aung Si Guesthouse. E ginto pa naman ang  taxi dito dahil malayo ang airport sa town proper.
Refused the taxi offers, spoke to Aung Si on the phone to cancel my room reservation, and moved to MotherLand inn instead (who had avail free shuttle).
Mother Land Inn

Mother Land Inn 2

It was almost dark when we arrived, I had my first meal in Yangon prior to calling it a night.

1st dinner in RGN

1st dinner in RGN

The prior night I was in a sleeper train, this night I had twin beds all to my self, hehehe.

2 beds for me :)

2 beds, all for me🙂

Good Morning Yangon!

rainy morning

young monks walking maski raining

Almusal!

trad breakfast

traditional breakfast – Pe Nan Bya (Naan with beans)

After lumafang, let’s do our DIY walking tour

DIY

salamat po sa maps

I followed the instructions and map on how to take a bus (#204) going to city center and how to go to Shwedagon Pagoda.

And I did it! Wore a longyi over my shorts to cover my legs. Entrance fee USD 5, with free wifi.🙂

Shwe

shining shimmering Shwedagon Pagoda

Shwe

Shwedagon Pagoda grounds

Shwe

Shwedagon Pagoda grounds

After mag-ikot ng bongga, pahinga ng konti then proceeded for my DIY Downtown walking tour.

noodles

sidewalk noodles

nood

noodles + fish soup

dds

yoghurt, oo baso ko yang asa kanan🙂

sdsd

yun oh! kaso quota nako’t baka magrambol na tyan ko noh

Parang History book sa totoong buhay Ate Charo.

Andami paring Colonial period buildings and they were a sight to behold. Nangawit batok ko kakatingala habang naglalakad, hehehe.

sdsd

Bogyoke Aung San Market

sdd

Oil Rail Station

Sule

Sule Pagoda

dss

City Hall

sdsd

Yangon Independence Monument

sdsd

Yangon High Court & Clock Tower

sdsd

Telegraph Office

sdd

Yangon Gen. Hospital

dsd

Rander House

sds

Accountant General Office

sds

Yangon Port Authority

I walked and walked and before I knew it, nakauwi na pala ako, hehe. I rested and then went downstairs for dinner.

sdd

RGN 2nd dinner

sd

sampol ng Myanmar beer

sdd

‘ 2nd bote  + fish & chips = Solb!

I definitely had a good night’s sleep. Woke up early and fresh the next day.🙂

Good Morning

Good Morning  ulit Yangon!

conti

continental breakfast

After breakfast, i headed for my walking tour until i reach the railway station.

sfd

Yangon walking tour

fsd

Railways office

There are trains going all the way to Mandalay & Bagan but i didn’t have enough time. It was my last day and have to fly back to Bangkok in the afternoon, so the 3-hour Yangon circle trip was the most i could do.

fsdf

train station

sf

aboard Yangon Circle train

Compared to the day long walking i did the previous day, it was a treat to sit back and relax while sightseeing Yangon. The views changed along the way – to city views, paddy fields, residence areas, village markets, local people boarding on and off, and so on.

sfdf

reminds me of home

When i got off, i walked backed to the hostel and chanced to pass by St. Mary’s Cathedral. I wasn’t able to see it the previous day. It’s pink and lovely.

czc

St. Mary’s Cathedral

I had my late lunch when I arrived in the hostel, prepped my bag and waited for the free shuttle to the airport.

zc

Yangon International Airport

Passed the time while roaming around the souvenir shops until it was boarding time.

zcx

Air Asia flight RGN-BKK

zcc

aboard Air Asia flight RGN-BKK

Departed RGN & arrived BKK on time, got out of DMK airport and took the shuttle bus + BTS to Nasa Vegas Hotel. I was contemplating if i would still go out but then after a warm shower my brain decided to call it a night. Tomorrow, my BFFs McDo & Juds will arrive to join the rest of the trip, woot!🙂

Up next, Bangkok with the Mons! 

Categories: Myanmar | Tags: , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “SEA Series Part 4: Mystical Yangon

  1. Pingback: SEA Series Part 5: Sawasdee Bangkok! | adbenturera

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Kulas Angeles

Tatay stories worth sharing

redmapledreams

Our Journey to Canada

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Third World Passport

Conquering the world, one Visa at a time.

Gillespie's Guide to Travel+Procurement

Education, Innovation and Best Practices

DIY Coron

Your Trusted Coron Palawan Travel Portal - Do It Yourself Style

FUNCCOUNTING (Fun Accounting)

Accounting, Made Fun and Humorous! - Jokes and Bloopers!

The Curious Miss

Keep exploring. Keep learning. Stay Curious.

Zee Ridiculous Life of Zee

Life Is Short. Don't take it too seriously.

adbenturera

Life is too short. Get out of the couch.

invested101

my journey to financial freedom

My Hong Kong Husband

Third culture wife: Polish girl married to a Hongkonger, fresh off the airplane in Ireland. AMWF, lifestyle, culture, food, Asian fashion and a little bit of Cantonese

talinorfali

Don't ever change yourself to impress someone, cause they should be impressed that you don't change to please others -- When you are going through something hard and wonder where God is, always remember that the teacher is always quiet during a test --- Unknown

Together as one.

On the 12th of December 2013, we would like you to be our witnesses as we join hands in the Sacrament of Holy Matrimony at the Sanctuario de San Jose Parish.

Air Grindz

Airline food review, mostly economy. Grindz (noun, Hawaiian Pidgin): food, meal, makanan

J T Weaver

And in the end the love you take, is equal to the love you make. -- The Beatles

Sara_Sarity

it's time to give my own voice a chance to pipe in :)

Andy Kaufman's Kavalkade Krew Featuring The Wandering Poet

Poetry, Musical Parodies, Music Videos, Social & Political Commentary, Humor & Reviews

Wandering Soul

another chapter on

joeseeberblog

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Living Europe

The heart and soul of Europe

SHANGHAI CHEAPS

Promotions & Events Page

seriously JOLLY

Live. Laugh. Love. Learn. Leave a legacy.

So, What's News?

News that won’t make you depressed to read the news.

SHE WHO ENTANGLES MEN

Just another WordPress.com weblog

iamhappyheart

A happy heart make the face cheerful, but the heartache crushes the spirit.

by kadu

Unfamous Diary of Pulubing Turista

Seeking Felicity

A memoir of journeys made

Erce'den...

Seyahat ve şehir kültürü yazıları..

The Adventures of AdventuRoj!

Going Places, Leaving Memories, Making a Difference...

YANNAH THE WANDERER

Travel is my Rhythm

OOAworld

Movie, Photos, Writing, Stories, Videos, Animation, Drawings, Art and Travel

Say Cheese!

Life is a piece of cheesecake.

The Neandert(h)al Appreciation Society

Just a place for me to rant and gossip about Neanderthals, the weather, Sod's law... you know... this and that.

In-Madrid

Choose a place and make it yours.

Diary of a Desert Fox

a dose of the sunny, lovely, hungry, thrifty, and motherly that is in me.. and in all of us

I've got some art stuck in my eye

Art history and I have some unfinished business

Turkish Delight 2012

Travels in Turkey

youngdatingdivorced

Divorced after 8 years and still in my 20s. Score! Oh and a hapless rookie at dating. Young, Dating and Divorced.

Traveling Thane Furrows

Sharing Seeds of Benevolence, One Step at a Time.

dessertgump

Its about the places, things, events that inspire me about our world

Trade News in Brief

International Economic Affairs & Relations / Regional & International Organizations / Global Commerce & Business

food and blood

Nicht noch so ein veganer Öko-Blog

